How to dress for an Interview? For Alternative Fashioned People

So you need to get a job but what are you going to wear for interview? Should I wear my hair in a teased back comb mess? Should I wear alternative clothes or buy a disgusting suit from Primark? These are questions that I was recently faced with whilst I was job hunting. I am sure these are also questions that you too have faced.

It is a hard choice you don’t want to hide your personality, but you cant sit around brooding in your amazing clothes forever either. Unless you get an ‘alternative’ job or one that is open to different styles, then your going to have to bite the bullet and style yourself down.

What did I decide to do?

 

I do believe that you should dress smarter and more ‘normal’ when going for an interview. But wait! Don’t grab that hideous suit just yet. I think you should just tone down your style, so there is still a bit of your personality shining through.

Blouse: £10 Dorthy Perkins

Skirt:  £7 Cult

Black Patient Shoes: £10 Primark

I already owned these clothes. I didn’t have to go and buy any ugly items I would never wear again.  When these items are paired together they look very smart as well as showing some of my own style with the frilly collar and bow.  So it is worth looking through the wardrobe you might have a blouse, skirt or trousers that would work well.

My hair was the hardest part. I love having my big backcombed hair, but first impression are important and it does look a bit of a mess. Instead I had my hair down with a bit of volume in and a cute bow to the side.

And…..I got the job! I should soon be starting my new job as a museum assistant. Working in a museum is something I have always been interested in and love all the behind the scene collections.  We also have a large collection of bones/fossils and a few taxidermy items…..AWESOME!

 

Mad Magpie x

One thought on “How to dress for an Interview? For Alternative Fashioned People

  1. Congratulations on the job! It sounds like a dream, working in a museum.
    As far as job interviews go, I think you’re absolutely right but I also believe it depends on what sort of job you’re applying for and in which country =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

