Style Me…Guro!

This Thursday’s ‘Style Me’ challenge focuses on the Japanese fashion Guro. This post does feature a little fake blood and syringes so if you are of a VERY weak disposition probably best to look away.

 

Guro

 

Guro is one of those ‘out there’ alternative fashions from Japan. I first came across the style in my young teenage years when shopping at Camden, I found a small stall selling  Blablahospital   clothing and wanted to know more.

Guro mixes clothing (usually seen with cute lolita) with blood and gore. Aesthetics include blood splatters, bandages, eye patches, broken dolls and anything medical.

How did I do?

Jumper: £3 H&M

Blouse: £4 H&M

Skirt: Handmade

Tights: £2 Primark (Altered)

I found this challenge very hard to do. Mostly  due to not wanting to ruin any of my clothes with fake blood. I think this outfit would have been better with a white blouse that had been splattered in blood, but I think it would have been a waste to ruin one of my Lolita blouses  with acrylic red paint. So I choose this ripped up holey jumper, which had similar aesthetic to Blablahospital stuff.  I also I wanted my clothes to look more like actual clothing rather than a Halloween costume. However it was still really fun to do and think I look weirdly good with red eyes!

I made these tights thinking they were my old ones with holes in. After putting the paint on them and cutting them up and sewing them haphazardly. I realised these where in fact my relatively new white tights that I was saving for my 1960s revival day, which is happening soon near where I live. That will teach me not to check!

*Don’t think me weird for having syringes in my house. I am trained in Bird Care and I used to live with a poorly Jackdaw that needed regular injections.

 

Thoughts?

I enjoy a bit of gore and macabre so I really enjoy look at this style on other people. But on me I just felt like I am just wearing a costume. I think the whole fake blood and bandages look is just too Halloween, however the medical themed printed clothing is something I just LOVE! For example I love these two skirts:

If anyone finds any medical themed printed clothing then give us a link, as I would be very interested in purchasing something similar to these skirts.

Mad Magpie x

Leave a Reply

