March Favourite Things

This blog post I am going to share with you movies, TV programmes, music and other things I have enjoyed over the month of March. Hopefully it will inspire you to also look into them and maybe you will fall in love with them too. I will try not to reveal any major spoilers, so I don’t ruin any thing for anyone.

 

Movie: Your Name (Kimi No Na)

YourName-heading

If you are interested in Anime then you have probably heard of this film. It is massive in Japan and the highest grossing anime film world wide.  It is absolutely beautifully made, it has incredible detail and at points you forget this isn’t a live action film.

The story revolves around two characters who swap bodies when they sleep.  It starts with being quite comedic with scenes like the girl (Mitsuha) in a male body (Taki), worried about going to the toilet.  However as it progressed the story line becomes more complex with twist and turns. Ending with your heart strings being well and truly tugged.

An excellent movie and it’s no wonder that it has seen great success world wide.  I would definitely recommend this film even if you are not interested in anime.

 

TV Programme: SKAM

skam

I came across this show by chance. I just saw a random couple of people talking about it in a UK TV forum. They mentioned it was like ‘Skins’, a show I used to enjoy when I was teenager. So I thought I would give it ago. I love the slice of life type of programmes, this was right up my street and I found it much more realistic and enjoyable than ‘Skins’.

The Norwegian show follows the daily lives of a group of young adults, following mainly their love lives. However it features a lot of complex subjects such as religion, mental health, and sexuality. It handles theses subjects very well. It doesn’t shy away from these issues and play them out in a very realistic way. It plays in real time and you can also follow the characters text messages and Instagram photos. The show has a massive following in a variety of countries so everything is available translated.

 

Music: Chvrches

I am surprised I haven’t come across Chvrches sooner, as the synthpop genre is something I have always enjoyed. I have been listening to many of their songs recently and I think ‘Lies’ has got to be my favourite of theirs.

Anime: Your Lie in April (Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso)

 

W0iP8fD

I do enjoy a good anime every now again and ‘Your Lie in April’ is one that has really stood out above the rest. It not only has beautiful animation, but the music as well. The story revolves around Kōsei a former pianist prodigy and getting back into music after meeting a violist. I wont say anymore of the story as I don’t want to risk ruining the anime. I totally recommend this anime, but beware you will need a box of tissues!

 

I do hope that this blog post has inspired you to check these things out. If it isn’t normally your cup of tea give the first episode/first 10 minutes a go, you never know you might get hooked like I was.

Mad Magpie x

Leave a Reply

